Wednesday, November 05, 2008

Salacious Banter

Lewis Warsh
John Koethe

Thursday, November 13
8pm


900 S 5th.
5th & Walker Walker's Point
Milwaukee
Food and drinks provided
Suggested donation: 5 dollars

Lewis Warsh has been a luminary on New York’s writing scene for 40 years. With Anne Waldman, he co-edited Angel Hair Books and Press, an important catalyst in the "mimeo revolution" of the 1960s and publisher of Alice Notley, Philip Whalen, Bernadette Mayer and Ron Padgett among others. The Angel Hair Anthology, brought out by Granary Books in 2001, was also co-edited with Waldman. Since 1977 he has edited United Artists Books.

Previous works of poetry, fiction and autobiography include Inseperable: Poems 1995-2005, Touch Of The Whip and The Maharajah's Son. Of the poetry collection, The Origin Of The World, Robert Creeley wrote: “Given the complexity of this world and all the myriad people who are in it, these poems are poignantly articulate experiments, which reach out endlessly, day or night, so as to feel another is still there too. If one could ever doubt, Lewis Warsh proves again that the world exists, even after all is said and done.” Here's a link to his website: http://www.lewiswarsh.org/


John Koethe has been placed by many critics in the tradition of Wallace Stevens and John Ashbery. Robert Huddleston wrote this of his work: "he can show us as few other contemporary poets can into an oneiric world of magnificent austerity."

Some of his books are The Late Wisconsin Spring, Falling Water, North Point North and his latest Sally’s Hair published in 2007 from Harper-Collins. He has taught Philosophy at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee since 1973. More at Koethe’s page at The Poetry Foundation Website.

1 comment:

JimK said...

huzzah!
..as an award, some fine cheese:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uIBr3S2hCiQ